The Faculty of Technology of the University of Colombo has four academic departments.  Each department is headed by a senior academic staff member with other academic and non-academic support staff.  Each department is responsible for conducting one degree programme mainly.  Each department’s academic programme is formulated and structured according to the general guidelines of the academic courses in the University of Colombo.

While students who are enrolled in a degree programme will attend lectures and practicals conducted by that particular department, they have plenty of opportunity to interact with students of other degree programmes.  This is because of the availability of some courses, particularly those that contribute to the enhancement of soft skills in students (Enhancement courses), which are common to students of all academic programmes